Kombucha fruit gummies = gut healing nirvana!

Standard

20130309-170356.jpg

I have been getting a lot of recipes for homemade gummies through the blogs that I follow and I have made a fair amount of gummies in the past for the kiddos. This week, I received a recipe for kombucha gummies. Brilliant! The gut healing gelatin combined with the probiotics in the kombucha make for one healthy snack! These would be especially helpful for someone who is suffering from a gastrointestinal illness. I am never one to follow recipes exactly though, so I made up my own version.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups kombucha divided
  • 1 banana, peeled and sliced
  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 5 Tbsp gelatin powder

Directions:

Blend 1 cup kombucha, the mango, and the banana until smooth. In a sauce pan heat 1 cup kombucha over low heat (too much heat will destroy the probiotic content). When the kombucha is warm to touch, whisk in the gelatin 1 Tbsp at a time whisking constantly. Slowly adding the gelatin is important to avoid clumps. When all the gelatin is incorporated, add to the fruit puree. Mix everything together and pour into fun shaped ice-cube molds. If you don’t have molds just pour into a shallow pan and when it’s set you can cut into squares.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Kombucha the Elixir to Life : Natural Health 808 Articles of Herbal Medicines & Remedies

  2. Pingback: Kombucha fruit gummies = gut healing nirvana! | Bendigo Paleo

  3. These sound great! I have had so many people tell me that what trips them up while starting to eat paleo is having to make their kids happy. This is proof that it can be done!

    • I gave this a try. They were delicious. Thanks for the recipe! I added berries to half the batch. I think I’d try it with a bit less gelatin next time. I found the texture to be a bit dense.

      • I have actually started adding less gelatin too. It seems they get firmer over time. They sit in the fridge for a few days and toughen up. So to keep the kids continually happy, I have modified the recipe a bit. Glad you liked them! 🙂

  4. yumm..would this work if I didnt add the mango? I am currently doing the 21 DSD so I am very limited in the fruit I can have. But definitely want to try these gummies. I made some tea infused gelatin gummies this week from Practical Paleo and they turned out pretty good.

Leave a Reply

