Real fruit snacks

Standard

20130215-100155.jpg
Battling sugary snacks is an ongoing challenge with the constant exposure to candy advertisements and displays everywhere we go! My daughter finally agrees that “candy makes me sick”. Win! So, that being said, I also don’t want to be the Food-Nazi-Mom that doesn’t let my kids have anything sweet. This Valentine’s Day I decided to make some “candy” for them that has no artificial additives, and is full of vitamins and minerals. Here is what I came up with:

Ingredients:

Directions:

  • Slice the star fruit into 1/4 inch slices (remove the seeds)
  • Peel and slice the kiwi into 1/4 inch slices
  • Dehydrate until leathery in a dehydrator or low over. I dried mine in my dehydrator at 135* for about 5 hours. The lower heat you use, the more nutrients that remain intact.

20130215-101816.jpg

20130215-101934.jpg20130215-101948.jpg

20130215-102001.jpg

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Paleo pancakes, four ways | NurseMomPaleo

Leave a Reply

