Homemade Laundry Detergent in 6 easy (and cost-effective) steps

Standard

In my ongoing efforts to rid my home of nasty chemicals I am experimenting with making my own cleaning agents. Laundry detergent is used daily, so I decided to start there. Here’s how to make it. This recipe makes just over 2 gallons.

You will need:

1 bar of soap (I used plain old Ivory)
1 cup of Borax
1 cup of Washing Soda
2 gallons of water

20121212-182126.jpg
Step 1:
Grate your bar of soap into a very large pot using a cheese grater (this one is the grater I use). This part is kind of fun becauseĀ it grates so well!

20121212-182328.jpg
Step 2:
Fill a gallon jug with water and pour it into the pot with the soap. Cook until the grated soap dissolves.

Step 3:
Add Borax and Washing Soda

Step 4:
Bring everything to a boil.

20121212-182429.jpg
Step 5:
Turn off the heat. Pour in an additional gallon of cold water to cool it down. Mix well with a large spoon.

Step 6:
Pour into desired containers. (I now use my husbands old “whey protein” containers because they are huge and I can just dip a measuring cup in to get my detergent). Use 1/2 cup per load. This detergent does not suds up, which is normal. It will thicken as it cools and might even need to be shaken up if it thickens too much.

20121212-182527.jpg

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Homemade powder laundry detergent « NurseMomPaleo

  2. Pingback: Homemade powder laundry detergent

Leave a Reply

